What Planet Earth is Not

At a low-ebbing week, with encouragement as scarce as hen’s teeth, I’m realizing that I expect the impossible from life.

Perhaps I’ve spent my whole life expecting some future moment when I will be perfectly happy, content and safe.

In an effort to feel hope, I’m always looking forward, and then human style, I cut myself short and don’t look far enough.

A student quoted C. S. Lewis this Friday morning, and it jumped off the screen.

“The truth is, that the Enemy (God), having oddly destined these mere animals to life in His own eternal world, has guarded them pretty effectively from the danger of feeling at home anywhere else.”

I look for Home like it’s my full-time job, but I’m looking for the wrong place and I won’t ever feel ‘arrived’ on this planet, in this lifetime.

What do we expect from life, after all? Surely, peace in Christ, but not with the world. Rest in Him, but not from this world. Comfort in who He is, and not in this world.

I have a hard time grasping what Heaven is, until I think about it as Not Earth.When you’re weary with never-ending ‘real life’, think about the truly real-life that is eternally wonderful.

I’m not meant to feel OK with what happens in this life, or try to make the best of things, (because obviously, if I just get everything settled, itwillbefine.) It’s not my job to redeem situations, change people’s hearts, live a life of lollipops and roses.

Dang it. This Friday morning,  I just need to focus on two things. That this is not forever, and a Good God is bringing us Home.

DSCN0342

5 thoughts on “What Planet Earth is Not

  1. Oh, Olivia. If only I could remember to remind myself of this every hour! Thank you for the reminder at this hour, though. Praying you have a good weekend 🙂

    Like

Thoughts?

