Black Out

I’ve seen black out poetry surface from time to time on Pinterest. It looked like the type of thing that was deceptively easy, so I never took up the challenge.

The other night however, the writer’s group I attend decided to take this exercise on for the evening’s challenge.

Like I said, it is deceptively easy looking! After struggling with word order and the fact that my page had things like ‘bazooka’ and ‘Communist’ on it…this is what I came up with.

DOC012616-0004

I cheated a little bit, I’ll admit.

The next afternoon, during some down time, I tried it with different pages and techniques. The trick is to let the words speak to you out of their intended context. Once you are focusing on words rather than sentences, things begin to suggest themselves.

DOC012616-0003

DOC012616-0001[1]

DOC012616-0002

Have you ever tried black out poetry? I’d love to hear about it!

3 thoughts on “Black Out

Thoughts?

