Routine

I think I’ve talked about it before…my struggle with routine, then disorganization, then obsessive list making again. There is no balance.

So here I am, limping along into March, trying to readjust to cold weather and winter coats. Missing butter pecan lattes and the Alabama man.

None of this is helped, of course, by my sniffly nose and a raging creative impulse which has me wanting to glue gun things for days. I have to remind myself about a job, sleep, showers, all the life that goes on day after day.

It’s inevitably the morning routine that suffers the most. I eat breakfast at 10, shower at 3. What a mess! I need inspiration for discipline, my friends and I’m looking to you.

What does your morning routine look like?

DSCN1893.JPG
This has no business being near anyone’s morning routine.

 

8 thoughts on “Routine

  1. I also struggle with a morning routine, but since I’m usually ravenous when I wake up plotting a delicious breakfast gets me excited. I suggest not going on the computer before breakfast and other basic chores, but if I don’t put my laptop away in the basement, I easily fall into the Internet trap!

    I hope you’ll post about your glue gun creations soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I err on the side of obsessively following my routine… e.g. I really don’t want to eat breakfast right away because I want to just drink my coffee for an hour (I’m not sure when I became middle-aged!). So far in 2016 I have been lighting a candle and drinking my coffee while I read my Bible and journal every morning, and I love that routine. After that I eat breakfast, make a to-do list for the day, get dressed, and walk Charlie. When I get back from the walk it’s about 9 or 9:30 and then I do my Tree of Life marking. That’s when I get sucked into the internet. But, for the most part I do almost the exact same thing every morning in the exact same order.
    One thing I find which helps if you want to develop a routine, is make sure the start of your routine is something easy and enjoyable. I like my Bible-candle-coffee first thing in the morning because it makes it easy to get up, since I just transfer myself to the couch and it doesn’t take a lot of motivation to curl up under a blanket and be cozy (vs. trying to get up early to work out, which would take a lot more willpower for me). Then my routine is kick-started, and I (theoretically) go forth in productivity.

    I agree with Margaret, and hope that you will post your glue gun creations. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lately, my morning routine (on my days off) have been pretty relaxed, so I can de-stress! I wake up without an alarm, take my time in the shower, and watch an episode of Full House while eating breakfast, ha ha.

    I’m horrible at getting up early, and the days when I have to leave the house to go to work are always stressful! I prefer when I don’t have to rush, and I can ease myself into the day. The only problem is that I don’t end up starting my tasks until later, so my day feels shorter… It’s a never-ending battle!

    Overall, I think it’s good to have a routine that is enjoyable, like Emily suggested. It’s healthier, for your mind and body, to not be stressed! πŸ™‚

    Like

Thoughts?

