A Little Phase

I know I usually decry ‘how to’ tutorials on this blog, but recently I’ve been slightly obsessed with multi-media/collage art. Surprisingly, Pinterest has failed me when it comes to breaking down the steps of this type of creative thing.

Maybe an inability to take pictures is part of the artistic process – who knows! It inspired me to  document what I did a few weeks ago, however. Some multi-media of my own!

So here you go…this is my experimentation with collage for a friend’s house warming present.

I used a mix of watercolours (for the sunflowers) and various acrylics to cover the old print and portions of the face and flowers.

I also wasn’t completely happy with the words in the background, so I cut out a new piece of paper that fit around the flower petals, rewrote the phrases, painted the paper white and then mod-podged it in place.

The bright black quote was written directly over everything with a fine point Sharpie. I practiced the spacing on a separate piece of paper, but honestly, the surest way to write crooked, is to over think it!

This is a different post than I usually pull together, but I hope it inspires you to do something creative today and not be afraid to make mistakes!

 

2 thoughts on “A Little Phase

  1. I love the whitewash effect you did over the flowers in the last step – it was the perfect finishing touch! Sunflowers are such happy plants 🙂 And the verse you chose is one of my faves, too!

    Like

Thoughts?

