Five Minute Friday: Sing

I’m shy about singing when I know people are listening. I don’t want them to think my private enjoyment is actually meant as performance for them.

I remember Mom once telling me that I didn’t sing as much as I used to and that she missed it.

We second guess ourselves too much.

I try to shake off the self conceit from time to time. Perhaps with practice it will become second nature and recently I caught a glimpse of that.

Walking through the store I sang to myself, not realizing it and when I did, not caring.

I know people who will burst out anywhere at anytime and I hope to become that someday. Less worried about myself and simply glad to give voice to what’s on my heart.

To sing is a deep expression of attitude and choice, deeper than I realized as the child that my mother heard from her office chair.

And now, choosing to find my way back to that girl, I’ll give voice again to those watermelon sweet days.

 

One thought on “Five Minute Friday: Sing

  1. Olivia, I love this post!! I sometimes wonder to myself, when and where exactly did I deviate from the simple things that brought me so much joy as a child…? Thank you for sharing this encouraging and cheerful post! 🙂

    Like

Thoughts?

